What is the main muscle group of the chest?

What is the major muscle group in your chest?

The pectorals or pecs are the large chest muscles. They are full of thick muscle fibers and add size to the upper body. The chest is divided into two parts, pectoralis major, and pectoralis minor. They provide support when you hold objects in front of your body and they are activated when you reach across your body.

What are the three main muscle groups of the chest?

The chest anatomy includes the pectoralis major, pectoralis minor and the serratus anterior. Learn about each of these muscles, their locations, functional anatomy and exercises for them. This page provides an overview of the chest muscle group.

How many muscles groups are in the chest?

Nine muscles of the chest and upper back are used to move the humerus (upper arm bone). The coracobrachialis and pectoralis major muscles connect the humerus anteriorly to the scapula and ribs, flexing and adducting the arm toward the front of the body when you reach forward to grab an object.

What is the Group of chest?

Pectoral muscles (colloquially referred to as “pecs”) are the muscles that connect the front of the human chest with the bones of the upper arm and shoulder.

IMPORTANT:  Is it bad to squat with weights everyday?

What are the 4 major muscles?

“I recommend people pay attention to what I call the `Big Four’ large muscle groups: the chest, legs, back and abs,” said Cunningham, who is teaching exercise science classes this school year at the University of Illinois at Chicago while pursuing a doctorate in the study of human muscle movement.

What are the 4 chest muscles?


  • Pectoralis major.
  • Pectoralis minor.
  • Serratus anterior.
  • Subclavius.

How many major muscle groups are in the body?

Regarding strength training, there are generally six muscle groups that people train and exercise. These six major muscle groups are: the chest. the shoulders.

How many parts to the chest are there?

The chest, or pectoralis major, is anatomically divided into an upper, middle and lower part, which known as the clavicular, sternocostal and abdominal head, respectively. However, the muscle is more commonly referred to as a two-parted muscle, upper and lower.